Crazy?!

No, not really. But maybe needing a little bit of TLC 🙂

I had another “episode”, this time just 2.5 weeks after the last! And figured I needed to get fixed. So off I trotted to new GP, a female this time. She was lovely, really lovely and is intent on helping me get to the bottom of things.

The first thing she did was to put me on reflux meds for 10 days, just to make sure that the chest pain isn’t actually a symptom of heartburn etc, but alas there was no change. I then went back to her and we had a long chat and she really feels that I do need to look into the panic disorder theory more closely. I have been fighting this diagnosis as it somehow made me feel as though the doctors were telling me that “it’s all in my head”, but have woken up and realised that these kinds of disorders to cause very real physical symptoms. I DO know that I am prone to facial flushing, chest pain, trembling etc when I get anxious, so I guess it all ties in.

My (step)MIL is a doctor and she was explaining to me that
1) panic disorders are basically a learnt response. So after a very stressful event you could a panic attack, but thereafter any little triggers could trigger the same response.

2)When you are on thyroid hormones there are times when your body dumps a bunch of thyroxine into your blood stream, which can cause some really awful symptoms.

I am assuming that maybe, just maybe, my very first episode was something like point #2 above, and that that set off a panic attack which then set off all my subsequent attacks?!

It’s food for thought at the very least and I really do hope that I am finally getting closer to the solution.

I have booked an appointment with a psychologist on Tuesday afternoon and will see what she says, hopefully she can teach me come coping mechanisms to get to the bottom of this and hopefully I’ll finally feel normal again.

In unrelated news it is just over a week until hubby and I fly to the Isle of Man, eeeeek!! We have some huge decisions to make over there while I am excited about the trip I am also terrified of what is to follow. One step at a time I guess…

Leave a Reply

