Detoxing…good for the body, mind and soul!

So in the aftermath of all the trauma and sadness I have felt like I need to do SOMETHING.  Leon’s gone back to work, Caeli and James are back at school…and I’m at home twiddling my thumbs.  Yes there are things to do like cleaning and ironing and blah…blah…blah..zzzzz……

But I need something to occupy my mind.  A distraction.  Mostly I’d love to be able to just get onto a treadmill and run my ass off and my thoughts away… but sadly my body is not quite there yet.  Just a few flights of stairs or a jaunt around a garden nursery and I’m finished, sore and crampy.  Most frustrating!!!

So I have decided on the next best thing – detox!  Not massively stimulating I grant you, but it’s something.  I’m not following any particular program, just trying to do a general detox (mainly sugar) but with a few of my own allowances.  It keeps it more interesting for me and allows me to have some fun creating menu’s, food diary’s and the like.  It’s something to keep me distracted basically.

It all started when Caeli announced around the dinner table on Saturday night that she would be giving up chocolates until Easter (4 weeks).  The rest of us chimed in that we would join her and do the same…then I had my brilliant flash of inspiration and decided to take my chocolate fast even further – no sugar.  In fact no sugar, no caffeine and extremely limited wheat, dairy, yeast etc.  Alcohol will be very limited, and whisky and water when I do want something. 

I did a very strict detox for 6 weeks last year and so I have a rough idea of what sort of do’s and don’ts there are, but frankly I just can’t be bothered to totally cut out certain things so I’m customizing it.

I am at the end of Day 3 and have not been feeling wonderful today, but also not too badly.  It’s definitely done a great job of keeping my mind occupied for the past 3 days, I’m HOPING it’ll have a positive knock on effect on my poor body which has been a bit battered in the last few weeks, and I’m sure the overall positives will have a great effect  of my soul and general well being.  Well that’s if I get through the chocolate withdrawals in one piece! Haha.

A rough idea of what I’ve been doing is:

Day 1 (felt great, no cravings at all!)

Breakfast: Cooked oats with honey, cinnamon and a handful of blueberries
Lunch: Leftover Chickpea Curry with Basmati Rice
Snack: Mixed organic nuts
Supper: Beef stew packed with veg (no starch)

Day 2: (few panging headaches but nothing terrible)

Breakfast: Cooked oats with honey and a handful of blueberries
Lunch: Leftover beef stew and veg
Supper: Salmon and steamed green beans on a bed of basil pesto & lemon rice.

Day 3: (very crampy and general malaise but possibly not detox related)

Breakfast: Cooked oats with honey, cinnamon and banana
Lunch: Leftover basil pesto rice mixed with steamed red pepper, green beans & baby corn
Supper: Chicken curry with a smalllll baked potato and broccoli … and strawberries, blueberries & grapes for dessert.

All washed down with lots and lots of water and the odd herbal tea.  Yum!!!  I’m happy to be doing something constructive and looking forward to feeling healthier.  It can only help me heal.  

Wish me luck….

 

2 responses »

    • Thank you so much. I am taking things day by day and even with the inevitable setbacks I can feel some healing is beginning. x

Leave a Reply

